MNScuba.com

Full Version: Know of any volunteer opportunities?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hey everyone!
I am a High School Science Teacher in a South Metro suburb. I received my open water certification while an Undergraduate, and I am interested in any volunteer opportunities that would allow me to utilize my dive skills. I have contacted the Minnesota Zoo, but I don't have any other ideas (I'm assuming Emergency Services and Police Departments employ their own personnel with certification and would not accept volunteers-I have heard this from several people I have spoken with).  I would even be interested in diving to inspect boats, docks, etc., anything that gets me back into the water. Does anyone have any ideas?
Thanks!!
The Carver County dive team is looking for volunteers.  I actually talked to the dive team trainer today.  Search and rescue diving is a whole different ballgame though.
check out the Duluth Great Lakes aqarium, they are looking for divers to do feeding , they have some requirements but its a very possible fit for your interests.

also check out
Jason-thanks for the plug. Smile

The Carver County Sheriff's Office Dive Team is looking for additional divers and top side support.  If you are interested in Public Safety Diving and are willing to make a firm commitment I would be happy to discuss some of the details.

Chris

What is the url link for great lakes aquarium feeding volunteer opportunities?  Also on a related note, to be part of the carver county dive team you have to live fairly close to the area. So that response time is 15 minutes or less. I checked into this but it did not work for me because i live to far away.