MNScuba.com

Full Version: Madeira Parking Temporarily Closed
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
The GLSPS just received a letter from the DNR informing us that they are finally putting in the parking lot for the diver access at the Madeira. Unfortunately they have to close the current parking area for around a month. Parking is prohibited on Highway 61. They believe it will be done in roughly a month, but as with all government work you really can't predict it. I posted the information on the GLSPS website along with a link to the Split Rock Park website. I also requested the DNR put the current status of the parking on the Split Rock Website so divers have a place to track it.
I have a master class dive i am doing on the madeira on the 12,13th of june. Is there somewhere else we are supposed to park then?
There is no other place to park other than at Split Rock State Park as far as I know and that's way too far away for hauling gear. Might want to line up a boat for the class unless they get the lot finished before then.
My impression is that there is no parking alternative for roughly the month of June. If you have a boat you could launch at Silver Bay. I can only give you the text of the letter:

Date: May 21, 2004
Dear Diving Enthusiast:

Please note that construction of a diver access parking lot near Gold Rock Point in Split Rock Lighthouse State Park is currently underway. We anticipate that this project will be completed relatively quickly, but are unsure of the exact completion date. It is likely that it will be finished within a month or so.

During the construction, the lot will not be available for parking. Parking along Highway 61 is not allowable or safe in that area. We ask for your cooperation in keeping use of the Gold Rock Point area to a minimum during the construction of the lot.