MNScuba.com

Full Version: Diving in Hawaii
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hey All:  I am new to mnscuba.  I am recently certified.  I will be taking a family trip to Hawaii over the winter holidays.  I want to dive but no one else in my family is interested.  So I will be buddyless.  I will be in Oahu, Maui and the big island for a few days each.  I am will have my own equipment except for tank and weights.  Any recommendations for dive centers, sites or anything else?  Thanks in advance.
can't help ya, as I've only been to Kauai of the islands.. but welcome to the board, share some pics when you return.. the pits that no one else in the family is interested.. should at least get them going snorkeling.. shoot, it's a whole 'nuther world under the water.
Someone else on here might have some hawaii info for you.
Fred
I have Dive Site maps of both of these islands hanging on my garage wall.
There are litterally hundreds of sites to choose from
I just returned from Maui 2 weeks ago (sorry, I know I still need to post pictures)   Sad

I did Oahu 2 years ago.
Here are your priorities:

Hanauma Bay (collapsed volcanoe) great family beach & activities for kids
Turtle Canyon
Blow Hole Wall
Waimea Wall
Six fingers

On Maui
Molikini Crater
Black Rock (Voted Top Ten Shore Dives in the World)
Turtle Town (great for families)
Mala Wharf (collapsed pier from '87 Hurricane, shore dive)
Shopping Mall is one block away, She shops...You dive, only 20 feet depth ...what woman wouldn't love that?
Coral Gardens (by boat- mountain wall) excellent for beginners
The Cathedrals (might not be for beginners)
Makena

2 weeks ago visibility was 110 feet and water temp was between 82 and 84. You will see species of fish in Molikini that exist no where else on earth. It will take your breath away.

_____
For others of you that think you cant afford to go, think again.