MNScuba.com

Full Version: Shark Cage Diving - Farralon Islands
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi All -

My wife and I are giving serious thought to trying some cage diving with Great Whites off the Farralon Islands this Fall. I have been researching websites on this, but thought I would get the scoop from anyone here that might know about it. It looks like an intense adventure, and is something I have always wanted to try. Among other questions, is there a best time to go? They look to limit the season to a fairly short number of weeks in the Fall, and my wife and I were thinking in mid-October simply because it was right in the heart of the season, but would be flexible if it was better earlier, or later. Also, a 'hookah' air delivery system is what is used instead of your own tanks and as a diver, I have no knowledge of this either. Any comments are welcome.

Thanks
Chris
I find that a great part of the fun in diving, is the part that is unpredictable.  I know when I hit the ocean I want to see sharks.  I also know, that that doesn't happen all the time.  If it is your be-all-to-end-all to see Great Whites, this is your ticket.  When it comes to some of these trips, I often think of the hunting shows on tv where the host of the show will go to a closed hunting ranch where feeding machines run all the time, or when they ride in the back of jeeps in Africa, see a Gazelle, stop the car,-shoot,-pictures and back at the lodge for lunch.  A true hunter, who waits all day- even all week, appreciates a sought after encounter far more than someone who is handed it.  Some of the best aspects of diving are the things you don't expect!  Find a divemaster who will point out SO many things, that it won't matter if you saw sharks or not.  As far as Hookah goes, your certified right?  Who wants to go back to training wheels?  Leave the hookah for the Dead Head divers. :o