MNScuba.com

Full Version: A question for women divers
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
  Hello.  I am new to MN scuba and just have a question for some of the other female divers (or guys with opinions on this).  I was at one of our local shops last week and tried on some gear.  The guy that was helping me made me feel rather uncomfortable (creepy).  He seemed more content to talk to my chest than look me in the eye.  I also felt trapped in the fitting room when he was "helping" me try on a wetsuit.  Have any of you ever experienced this?  Is this the norm?  I don't really want to name the shop yet but may have to warn other women if it's more common than I hope it is.

Thanks,
Betty
I'm a guy that's been guilty of making females feel uncomfortable but only because I'm stupid, not dangerous.  But you never can tell.

It's not the norm.

If you felt creepy or trapped, then he has a problem.  Those feelings exist for reason.  I'll bet you aren't the only one that's felt that way.  If he's an employee of the LDS, do the shop a favor and let the owner know.  If it's the owner, that might be tougher and you'll just have to try a different shop.

Chances are the guy is just a tool and might benefit from some education.  If not, then he's got to go for the sake of the shop.
Sorry to hear you had a bad experience.  No, that's not the norm!  All shops and their personnel are different. 

I had an unusual experience at a shop when I was trying on a hooded vest with a "Less than fully supportive" undergarment on....Suffice to say it was uncomfortable to try and figure my way out of that one!  I didn't dare ask the male who was working the shop at the time to assist me out of the vest without risk of somethings getting loose at the wrong moment!