MNScuba.com

Full Version: Physics of diving question...
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I am studying for a class and I have some questions about the physics of diving. Some of the questions I had have become crystal clear and some of the things I thought I knew have become confusing. I am struggling with the Haldanean model. I realize that in 1906 Haldane came up with the theory of compartments, which is just a mathematical model reflecting that parts of the body absorb and off gas at different rates. The tissue compartments are a theoretical model of the body. Each part of the body loads N2 at different rates, and also off gases at different rates. For instance blood absorbs N2 rather quickly, and bone much more slowly. Instead of doing a model for every tissue in the body,  His original model was based on 5 compartments, the Navy tables on 6 compartments, and the PADI RDP on 14. This much I get...

Where I start to get lost is when Haldane assigned a halftime to each compartment. A compartment half time is the time in minutes for a particular compartment to go "half way" from its beginning tissue pressure to equilibrium at a new depth. Haldane's original model had halftimes ranging from 5 minutes to 75 minutes. Modern models range from 3 minutes to over 600 minutes. My first set of questions would be this: What body parts relate to each of the compartments and is it important to know which body parts are fast compartments and which are slow? I am assuming that blood is a fast compartment and bone is slow, but other than that I can not find reference to answer this in any books. I might be over thinking this...
The second set of questions would be: How do I find out which compartment has a 5 minute halftime and which has a 20 minute halftime? Are these minutes just theoretical per compartment or are they written somewhere?