MNScuba.com

Full Version: Friends and Family
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Would you take uncertified friends and family diving.

If yes, how would you limit the dive plan.
Limit depth to puttering around the shore in 10 feet of water? Make them go through course materials.
Would you feel guilty renting equipment/tanks for them?
Try and teach them skills?
If they seem to do it well a number of times would you take them deeper?

Or is being able to take the attitude "Only I can go diving brother" satisfaction enough ;D
Using common sense I wouldn't take anyone diving that is not certified.

chrisw

how much life insurance do you have out on them? Wink
I would, but since I am an instructor my vote doesn't count.

It does remind me of something I saw while helping another instructor teach a class in LA a long time ago:

This guy was trying to show his girlfreind how to dive. They were just walking into the water in a protected cove, with less than 2' surf, when she got knocked flat on her butt. There she was, sitting in 6" of water, while her fins got dragged out to sea by the ebbing wave. He was standing there, in full gear, yelling at her while she just started sobbing and began swearing at him- it was a real "Hallmark moment". I cna only imagine what would have happened had he actually gotten her into the water. :Smile

A few years back, when Underwater USA was still being published, they reported on a bunch of deaths within a short period of time by well meaning scuba divers who had given their octo's to a passing snorkeler. Well, the snorklers were basically dead by time they hit the surface since they didn't know to exhale on the way up.

Discover ssuba courses are so cheap, and offered all the time down here, that I would never see a reason to take the chance.

Just my $0.02

jon