MNScuba.com

Full Version: Just getting started
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hey guys,
I'm just getting started into this amazing sport. And with that I have no equipment. There is a dive shop where I'm from that rents stuff. Is there anything that I should get right away? I'm planning with sticking with diving for years and years to come.
Thanks,
Mike.
I would start with just the basics:

A well fitting mask
(I suggest a black skirt, if you plan on diving MN a lot) the black skirt keeps the light from reflecting of your lens back into your eyes.

Snorkel

Fins
--------------------

The rest you can try before you buy.  Try many different bc's, including back plate/wings.

That's my 2cents.
^^ what he said ^^ 

And as I am only in this sport a year, do a lot of reading, and asking before you buy. It will save you from buying the same things twice. (I am learning the hard way)

There is always great deals to be had buying used stuff, but that can be risky too.

look into the future, and if you think you might want to get into tech diving, than don't waste a ton of money on rec stuff, unless of course you have a ton of disposable income, than buy two of everything ;D
I guess the next best thing in my opinion to get would be a wetsuit or a drysuit. rental exposure suits... need I say more ;D
that was one of my first bigger purchases. I think many will agree that up here, a drysuit is the way to go! But definitely do a lot of research before that purchase, and get the proper training ;D
Hey skiman... I'd get a boat first.  No, just kidding.  What, or who got you so excited about diving?
I did a discover scuba the last time I was in Florida, and a good family friend is an avid diver that we see regularly talks about diving and has some really cool videos!
Thanks for the help everyone!