MNScuba.com

Full Version: Dive Lights
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello All, I really like night diving but only have a puny, 4 C-cell UW light. My back up is even smaller - a 4 AA cell light, practically useless!

I'd like to purchase a heavy-duty light, but don't have the experience in their use. All product information claims their light(s) to be the best - of course!

What advice / experience have you have?

Some specs me thinks of is: rechargable, longer than one-hour burn time, possibly HID (but the bulbs are mucho expensive), and somewhat light & portable. Oh, and under $1,000!

Thanks ~ Mark
I'm no expert in this area but I've been looking at lcanister lights after using one last week at square... Dive Rite and Halcyon both have lights under $1000. SDT has some Dive Rite lights with halogen heads for approx $400, they can be found on the net too but I prefer to buy from local shops.. >Gotta support local businesses to keep them going.

Other than that, it sounds like you and I have the identical lighting setup... Time to upgrade.
I've read some great reviews about the Terkel - Sollys canister lights. I've also heard great things about the Dive Rite's and Halcyon's. I definately would go with NiMH batteries with whatever light you decide to get though just because having a smaller less bulky canister is real nice.
Currently I'm using one of DanL's custom can lights with the NiMH batteries. It's working great but the burn time is a bit short (just under an hour) since it uses a 50 watt halogen bulb instead of HID. Maybe at some point I'll have to get an HID light head for it. Here is a pic of my DanL light.