Remember me
Lost Password Register

Newbie from Mankato
07-04-2008, 01:27 PM,
Newbie from Mankato
Greetings everyone! My name is Ben and I am a newbie/wannabe from Mankato! I had been thinking about getting my wife and I certified for Christmas, as we've been talking about it for a long time. The time is definitely right to get it done! I am ecstatic thinking about it! We are going up to the cities for the pool classes probably in September.

After reading posts here and ScubaBoard the last few days, I have been able to pick up some VERY useful information and it's only made me more anxious. I am however finding myself wishing a lived in a larger city. I found a SCUBA club in Rochester and of course there are a ton in the cities, but none in Mankato, not even at the University. That might make it a little tougher to find buddies/outings, but I'm sure it will all work out.

I just wanted to introduce myself and say I am looking forward to my cert classes! Does anybody know of any decent dive sites south of the cities (if such a thing exists)?
07-04-2008, 01:58 PM,
Re: Newbie from Mankato
All the dive sites are good, just some are a little better. welcome aboard and enjoy your time in the water. a thought might be is to do the classroom and pool stuff here and go south for the checkouts.
grumpie.................
07-04-2008, 06:08 PM,

MSU used to have SCUBA on the P.E. curriculum....  :Smile  I couldn't pass the prerequisite of Water Safety Instructor so I had to wait til I moved up here too!

There are a couple divers from the Mankato and Mapleton area occasionally on this site,  good luck getting in touch with them!

Lake Okoboji in Iowa is probably the best "Southland Lake"  I can think of a few others.  Will PM With info later!
My name is Lisa and I'm a SCUBAholic. It's been toooo long since my last dive!
07-04-2008, 07:20 PM,