Remember me
Lost Password Register

first timer which regulator?
02-25-2004, 04:09 PM,
first timer which regulator?
Hello everyone, I am just getting into this sport and love it, I am still purchasing equipment and looking for advise on regulators to purchase. I like Scubapro, only because that is what was used for the pool training.

Thanks

???
02-25-2004, 05:37 PM, (This post was last modified: 02-25-2004, 05:42 PM by LKunze.)
Re:first timer which regulator?
I'd recommend the Apeks ATX50/ATX40 reg set or the Zeagle ZX50 DS4 regs. Both are excellent regs and great for coldwater and have environmentally sealed diaphram first stages. They are both priced very close to the same. I know several divers on the board here dive the Apeks and the Zeagles. I dive the Apeks ATX50/ATX40 and am very happy with them. There are several shops in the twin cities that carry both the Apeks and Zeagle lines.
02-25-2004, 06:15 PM,
Buy first and second stages which are designed for cold water use if you plan to dive in Minnesota. Lonnie provided some excellent recommendations for cold water regs.

You may want to consider holding off on a gear purchase right away. You can rent gear from diveshops and try different brands. Some shops let you rent gear for an entire season and then buy it at the end of the year. Try to get a couple dozen dives under your belt. Check out the gear that more experienced divers are using. You will save money and end up with better equipment.
--Jason
02-25-2004, 07:19 PM,
I'll second on the apeks. I have been very happy with mine.

Tim
02-27-2004, 11:27 AM,