Remember me
Lost Password Register

Octi vs. Spare Air
02-26-2004, 04:21 PM,
Octi vs. Spare Air
I have a question for you guys. I'm new to diving, so bear with me. Would a Spare Air system be an acceptable replacement for an octi? I'd rather have a spare air than an octi so I could use it myself if necessary too. I plan on doing mainly cold water diving, and I'm wondering if anyone knows how the perform in the cold.

Thanks,

Brian
02-26-2004, 06:29 PM,
Re:Octi vs. Spare Air
I am sure you'll hear a lot about Spare-Air's from other's on this board, but the only use I have ever found for mine is to use it as a bail-out bottle while I am freediving with a scooter.

I know I can swim to depth, and back, on a single breath, but I wanted back-up in case the scooter floods while I am down on a wreck. Since I am freedivng I don't have to worry too much about deco stops.

I've never used it for scuba diving because I prefer to dive an H-valve, or doubles, with two seperate regulators.

Jon
"Ignorance begets confidence more often than does knowledge." -Charles Darwin
02-26-2004, 07:52 PM,
No.

The octo is a safter, less expensive, long term investment. If you are a safe diver and dive with a good buddy you will never need the spare air. Once you gain experience and want to do more advanced dives you will have to ebay the spare air anyway. Meanwhile you will still be using that octo.
--Jason
02-27-2004, 11:51 AM,
If you dive with a buddie you can trust you are better off using second regs. If you are diving solo even solo in a group where you do not stay safely with your buddy a "real" pony bottle would be a better choice as spair air bottles are too small for a save accent from anyware you would need it.

but the best backup is a good buddie.
MNLakeDiver (aka Jim)<br />The water is so cold I can see my breath !
02-27-2004, 06:40 PM,