Remember me
Lost Password Register

Poll: How Long Have you Been DIR Certified?
You do not have permission to vote in this poll.
5 + Years
0%
0 0%
4 Years
0%
0 0%
3 Years
0%
0 0%
2 Years
100.00%
1 100.00%
1 Year
0%
0 0%
6 Months
0%
0 0%
Total 1 vote(s) 100%
* You voted for this item. [Show Results]

How Long Have You Been DIR Certified?
04-23-2004, 10:01 AM,
How Long Have You Been DIR Certified?
I don't know how long DIR has been around, but I'm curious as to how many local divers are DIR certified and how long they have been diving.

Thanks. 8)
'C'mon, c'mon! What're you waiting for? Daddy needs his medicine...' ~ Capt. Murphy
04-23-2004, 11:32 AM,
Re:How Long Have You Been DIR Certified?
I've been diving for about 10 years, hogarthian (full cave and adv trimix) for about 5 (moving more and more toward DIR as time passed and I was able to check my ego) and recently took a GUE fundamentals course.

David

PS: I don't think there is such a thing as being DIR certified. Passing a GUE course is no guarantee of being DIR - like Gert mentioned, it's about having the correct mindset and attittude.
04-23-2004, 11:58 AM,
Now I am really confused. I thought passing the DIRF class was the starting point of DIR. In a different thread Groovekitty said that a GUE instructor could revoke your card on the spot.

Is that not the point one "Officially" starts the commitment to abide by the DIR philosophy, hence a certified DIR diver?
04-23-2004, 12:06 PM,
Yes, I too picked up from other threads that one was 'certified'. Well, whatever it is, a 'rating', 'secret society, etc., I think you understand what I'm asking??? I'm more curious about who's DIR & how long they've been diving the DIR 'system.

I'm sure all my questions would be answered if I took the DIR-F course, read the associated manuals, etc., but before I invest any monies and weekends, I thought this would be the way to do some preliminary investigation.

Thanks