Remember me
Lost Password Register

NAUI or PADI?
05-03-2004, 06:20 AM,
NAUI or PADI?
Hello newbie here. I have been snorkeling for 20 years and recently decided to go ahead and get certification for scuba. I am a good swimmer and will probably dive in warm water for about 2 weeks/year. I love underwater photography and probably won't be diving more than 20 to 30 feet down. What a luxury to be able to compose a picture!

I have been looking at the training available locally and I don't know what to choose, NAUI or PADI. What's the difference or why did you choose one over the other? I know this has probably been discussed before; I promise I looked for a FAQ and through 9 pages of posts before I sent this in! Since I plan to NEVER(sorry I hate the cold) dive here would it be better to get my certification at a warm water location? Thanks!
05-03-2004, 06:56 AM,
Re:NAUI or PADI?
Look at the store you are going to go with I am a PADI IDC Staff, but I think all agencys have something to offer and it is what is convient for you. You'll here that one is better than another but I look at it just like the toys men and women have I have a Yamaha so that is better then a Ski Doo. A good instructor will make the difference no matter which agency you choose. I went the PADI route because that was the only angency in the area close to me. As far as warm water cert. or cold water cert. what can your pocket book afford? Living here and doing your cert here you don't have to pay for lodging, meals etc. My personal view getting certified here improves a lot on your skills. I think once you get wet and see how warm you'll be with the wet suits on you probably like to check out diving some great places close to home. It's your choice.
05-03-2004, 07:25 AM,