Remember me
Lost Password Register

Hammerhead rebreather add-on
05-20-2004, 09:39 AM,
Hammerhead rebreather add-on
I was just wondering if anyone has used the hammerhead in combonation with the inspiration? And if so, how did you like it? 8)
"Nothing can resist the human will, that will stake even it's existence on it's stated purpose."-Benjamin Disraeli
05-20-2004, 03:15 PM,
Re:Hammerhead rebreather add-on
As far as I know, there aren't any local divers using it. It's been a pretty big point of contraversy in the rebreather market. AP strongly discourages it's use, they claim that the oxygen controllers haven't been through extensive enough testing. There are some nice features though, like wrist mounted display units.
05-21-2004, 05:00 PM, (This post was last modified: 05-21-2004, 05:06 PM by john j.)
I have no experience personally with a Hammerhead, so keep that in mind when you read my comments. I know someone locally that bought one, but he has not used it on a dive yet.

I read the user manual carefully and I wasn't all that impressed. I can see why some people might like it due to the built-in deco computer, etc, but that kind of stuff is not something I want to have. I won't elaborate here on that but would be happy to discuss later. I also didn't like the fact that it really only has one control computer. The other is just a PO2 monitor-it does not control the system. If your primary fails, you only have a monitor as back up, not a second active control system. Again, more of a personal preference than a major issue.

Wrist mount computer like the Hammerhead offers would be nice, I will agree with that.

It's also very expensive and the price recently went up even more. I hear they are selling well in Europe. Why would the price go up if production volume is also going up? Answer: greed? I don't know. Seems funny to me. I personally wouldn't pay that kind of money for something unless I really thought it was fantastic. I don't think it is fantastic.