Remember me
Lost Password Register

Almost Certified Beginner
08-19-2004, 03:50 PM,
Almost Certified Beginner
Hello, I'm a beginner scuba diver. I've gone on a total of 3 "resort courses," and this fall I'm doing my PADI Classroom and Pool in the cities, and this winter I am vacationing to Cozumel to complete my certification course, and of course do some more dives. I do have pretty limited resources, but what would you recommend someone new to the underwater world? Even after my certification and extra dives in Cozumel I'll still not be ready for just going diving with my father on a random lake down here by where I live in Minnesota. But I know I won't be traveling to somewhere like Cozumel again untill sometime in the distant future. So what would you recommend for a diver with limited resources and skills for local diving? Do you know of any nice spots for beginners within driving distance? Thanks a lot
08-19-2004, 04:06 PM,
Re:Almost Certified Beginner
Where do you live? Your primary choices are Square Lake, Crosby or Wazee. All of these have area and platforms for beginners.
08-20-2004, 09:44 AM,
Presumably your father is a certified diver. You certainly you can go diving with your father after you are certified. Just keep the dive plans simple at first. Unless your father would push you beyond your limits. Of course if you want to dive in Minnesota you will need environmental protection (wet suit).
Leon
08-20-2004, 09:50 AM,
I live down in Mankato. And my father is at the same level as me, we both are just getting certified, after having done a few past resort courses.

Thanks a lot for your insight
08-20-2004, 12:35 PM, (This post was last modified: 08-20-2004, 12:36 PM by jasondbaker.)
You can always rent the gear you need for local diving. I think the closest decent lake to you is Fish Lake. You can also find good diving down at Lake Okoboji.