Remember me
Lost Password Register

HI everyone
09-04-2004, 12:59 AM,
HI everyone
I'm fairly new to scuba diving. I've had an interest in it and marine biology ever since I was 7 years old. Lately, i've been thinking about getting certified. Just a couple quick questions. How much does it cost to get certified? Are there any good spots within a 90 mile radius around the Detroit Lakes area? Thanks Smile
09-04-2004, 05:26 AM,
Re:HI everyone
Pink Barracuda Dive Shop is right in Detroit Lakes.
09-04-2004, 10:48 AM,
In the land of 10,000 lakes.. there's a ton or more than a ton of good spots for diving. especially this time of year.. the water is clearing up, although it is getting cold. The local dive shops can clue you in on all the great spots. Don't hesitate if you're thinking about getting certified this fall.. I think the local dive shops are only doing 1, maybe 2 sets of classes (I'd check on that).
Fred
Cold and dark down there huh?
09-05-2004, 01:53 AM,
Well, I won't be getting certified till this spring. I'm in college now and need to save some money first. I was thinking of going to either Mick's Scuba or Pink Barracuda.
09-05-2004, 07:47 AM,
Smile Yer in college huh.... Well why didn’t ya say so sooner.

[glow=red,2,300]Now is the PERFECT time to get your certification!![/glow] You can proverbially eliminate multiple avian life forms using only one geological artifact (kill two birds with one stone). Quite a number of colleges actually offer SCUBA diving certification classes as part of their curriculum in physical education. Even if your college does not offer it, many dive organizations offer a college credit for certification which could then be transferred.
Yup, get college credit and learn to dive at the same time ;D-
09-05-2004, 07:11 PM, (This post was last modified: 09-05-2004, 07:11 PM by Appolion.)

I like that idea. Thanks for pointing it out Wink
09-07-2004, 08:26 AM,
Hi,