Remember me
Lost Password Register

Beginner looking at Scuba Gear
09-04-2004, 02:26 PM,
Beginner looking at Scuba Gear
Hello, I'm just getting into the amazing sport of Scuba diving. I'm not even fully certifed yet :-[ , but I was wondering how much it would cost to get a quality set of Scuba equpiment. How would you recommend a financially limited, beginner, to do this? At the dive shop I'm going to become certified at, I noticed scuba packages for 1500 - 2000 dollars. But recently I've been looking at scuba packages on the internet and they're priced significantly lower. Has anyone had an expierence with buying scuba gear on the Internet?

Also, what brand would you recommend for a beginner with a budget, but not wanting to sacrifice safety. And what would be a good all around size of wetsuit for MN lake diving??

Thanks a lot

09-04-2004, 03:58 PM,
Re:Beginner looking at Scuba Gear
Lotsa questions. Let's get started.

My rule is that the worst time to buy dive gear is right before or after you get certified. The dive shops might not like to hear that because they love it when the minnows stop in and max out their credit cards. But it's the truth. You really don't know what equipment will work best for the diving you want to do. You don't know if you will really like diving locally. You should consider renting equipment for a season so that you can try out different gear.

If you really have to buy equipment now you have a couple options.

1) Read some of the older posts on this forum to see what brands of equipment experienced MN divers are using. There is a reason we use certain suits, regs, BC's, computers, etc.

2) You can buy all your gear from a diveshop, or some gear from a shop and some online, or all your gear online. I buy from shops and from online. There are pros and cons to both. Everyone has a different perspective. You will find plenty of forum discussions on this topic.