Remember me
Lost Password Register

Who disagrees with DIR and why?
01-16-2005, 12:02 PM,
Re:Who disagrees with DIR and why?
I believe in keeping it simple, no BC, no pressure gage, no second regulator, just an old double hose reg., steel tank with J valve and back pack. Anyone want to dive with me.
01-16-2005, 01:56 PM,

Well, when your ready to cut down your gear a bit more- just mask, snorkel and fins/monofin- let Fred and I know and we'll dive with ya'. Wink

Jon
"Ignorance begets confidence more often than does knowledge." -Charles Darwin
01-17-2005, 10:52 AM,
Any of you guys have a fifteen foot snorkel, then I could leave my SCUBA on shore.
01-17-2005, 08:52 PM,
I am a rookie diver with 15 dives under my belt. I dont want to sound stupid but I want to learn. What is DIR? ?
01-18-2005, 12:06 AM,
Some guy built a BCD that he really liked, then he started a cult to sell it (they are nice BCDs, I have a couple of them, they also sell a nice reel).

Pick up a copy of the book "Doing It Right: The Fundamentals of Better Diving". You can buy it online at a site called Global Underwater Explorers. They also have a little retail store on Main Street in High Springs, Florida called Exteme Exposure (I'm actually heading down there in about 10 days to crawl into some caves). The book is pretty good. It has a lot of good info (though some are kind of silly ideas).

If you like what you read, take a DIR Fundamentals Class. It is a pretty good class (though my teacher was pretty annoying). It's kind of like what an "Advanced Open Water" class ought to be. I learned a fair amount when I took it. DIR: Don't really like it ("Doing it Right", the name in and of itself seems a bit up tight, but then again Dive Rite is also a pretty bad name). This sport is like a buffet. Pick and chose what you want, so long as it works for you. Just be safe and have fun.
01-23-2005, 08:57 AM,
Re: Who disagrees with DIR and why?