Remember me
Lost Password Register

used dry suit..good idea? or bad?
02-06-2005, 12:16 AM,
used dry suit..good idea? or bad?
As many of you have figured out by my line of questions I am still pretty new to the sport and I am still building my goodie bag.

I have been looking at used dry suites on ebay and I am tempted but would like to know what everyone thinks.  I would love to be able to try them on and see how they fit but this of course is not going to happen. 

I have had good luck for the most part with stuff I have bought one ebay but I usually also have en ebay rule that I live by. don't buy it unless you can afford to loose the money you are sending into the great  unknown.

What are the good brands? DUI probably not an option at that price...

How much would you spend on a used suite?

Let the knowlage flowwwwwwwwww.

Thanks

Doug
AOW
02-06-2005, 02:20 PM,
Re: used dry suit..good idea? or bad?
what is your price range ,   try your local shops!  they have been known to have rental and consignment suits avail but you must call around!  repairs are avail in state, if you find a suit with poor seals or a leak, it worked for me.
02-06-2005, 03:39 PM,
price rance is the big question, what did people pay for thier dry suit?  I probably cant scrape up more that about $400.00  can I get something of good quality used for that?

Doug
AOW
02-06-2005, 06:43 PM,
I'm knew to scuba diving too, and am now looking to buy a quality wetsuit. Most of the wetsuits I've looked at have been in the $400 price range, so I would be very suprised if you could find a good quality used dry suit for near $400.
02-06-2005, 07:06 PM,