Remember me
Lost Password Register

Inspiration Modifications
04-04-2005, 09:52 AM,
Inspiration Modifications
What modifications have to be made to the Inspiration to dive it beyond 330 ft?

I know the buzzer can implode (how to you remove it?)... but what else???
'C'mon, c'mon! What're you waiting for? Daddy needs his medicine...' ~ Capt. Murphy
04-04-2005, 01:39 PM,
Re: Inspiration Modifications
I'm not an expert on the Meg, but I believe the most significant difference (as it relates to deep diving) is the breathing hose diameter, and how it impacts work of breathing at depth.
04-04-2005, 06:36 PM,
The first problem you encounter with the Inspiration is the buzzer imploding. You can either replace the scrubber lid with a Hammerhead (big bucks)or some people have removed the buzzer.
I don't like the idea of just removing the buzzer and not having any warning system.
I am checking in to the possibility of replacing the buzzer with a red LED like the Megladon has in it's heads up display. That way you would have a red light blinking in your eye instead of a buzzer in your ear.
Beyond that people have been diving the Inspiration well past the factory rating of 100 meters(330 ft).
04-07-2005, 04:35 PM,
Hi Mark;

The buzzer is factory tested (but not factory certified) to 528 feet.  Beyond that depth it doesn't actually implode.  Common misconception.  The buzzer is actually inside the plastic canister at the end of that hose.  Inside that hose and inside the buzzer canister, the pressure is the same as in the breathing loop, just about ambient pressure.  If taken too deep, the buzzer canister does not implode or crush in.  Only the buzzer element inside the canister crushes.  The buzzer then stops working.  So, when the buzzer "implodes" you don't get a loop flood, you just get a buzzer that doesn't work anymore.