Remember me
Lost Password Register

looking for a camera
05-30-2006, 10:36 AM,
looking for a camera
Hey all,

Just looking for some advice on getting a camera/housing. I have been using a sony DSC-P10 for some years but lost it in a break-up. So I am in the market for a nice point-n-shoot with a housing. Went to national camera exchange and they pointed me toward a casio. I loved my cyber-shot and would like some advice from divers. I like to take photos and will mostly be using it on land but the times I will get a chance to get wet I would like to be ready.
Any help is appreciated.

Cheers,
Stacia
05-30-2006, 11:22 AM, (This post was last modified: 05-30-2006, 11:25 AM by LKunze.)
Re: looking for a camera
Welcome to mnscuba Stacia.  There are a lot of good choices out there for point and shoot cameras.  I have been using a Sony Cypershot for about 4 years now it's been great.  I have had good luck with the Sony housings.  I'd take a look at the Canon line as they have a pretty wide selection of housings for their cameras and I've heard pretty good things about them.  Olympus makes some nice stuff too.  I'd look for a camera that uses user replaceable batteries if I was looking for a new camera.  That's the one con I see with the Sony Cybershot that I have because it uses a Lithium Ion battery back which I don't care for.  The battery back has a pretty short battery life and they don't last too long before they need to be replaced because they won't take a good charge.  Here is a past thread that has some useful information and web links. 
05-30-2006, 11:32 AM,
Re: looking for a camera