Remember me
Lost Password Register

snorkel (what is it good for?)
12-02-2002, 08:16 AM, (This post was last modified: 12-02-2002, 08:17 AM by ChrisW.)
snorkel (what is it good for?)
I am new to diving (5 dives) so I am sure I don't have
the whole picture but...
what is with having to have the DANG snorkel on every dive?

The stupid thing floats around near my head obscuring what
little peripheral vision I have on the left...

I keep grabbing it to inflate/deflate my BC...

If I have to swim to shore or boat I was taught to swim
on my back to conserve energy so I cant use the snorkel
then....

what good is this stupid thing???

12-02-2002, 08:42 AM,
Re:snorkel (what is it good for?)
Exactly...I hate snorkels as well. IMO they are an entanglement hazzard and are unnecessary for scuba dives. Some may argue that they are good for long surface swims but I'd rather swim on my back on the surface than face down with a snorkel anyway. Wink
12-02-2002, 10:19 AM,
You're only required to use a snorkel during class... if you're not in class you're not 'required' to use one. Some people swear by them, others swear at them... Personal preference, and I'm with you guys... if I don't have to use one I don't.
12-02-2002, 11:09 AM,
The only thing I do like about them is that if you are in the water waiting for the rest of the group, a snorkel
makes it handy to take a peek or two without burning up air.
Other than that, I agree with everyone else...They get tangled up...etc..etc..etc
I have tried to use my snorkel swimming on my back...It kinda works (Sometimes!!!)

Thanks...Jean ;D
How's my diving? Call 1-800-EAT-FISH
12-02-2002, 05:13 PM,
Shoot... I almost hate to admit I own a half dozen or so :-\

Fred
Cold and dark down there huh?
12-03-2002, 09:03 AM,
Its OK Fred,

I think freedivers have a special dispensation for
liking snorkels

>freediverND
>Shoot... I almost hate to admit I own a half dozen or so
12-03-2002, 11:05 AM,