Remember me
Lost Password Register

I got Published!!!!!
06-23-2007, 09:19 AM,
I got Published!!!!!
OH MY GAWD!!!!

I'm a published underwater photographer now!!

Alyson was hounding me to send in the photo of the loon that I took last year (the same one that is in the Gallery).  Well I finally sent it in to the magazine Birder's World for their photo of the week contest.  I got a letter back saying that they did not want it for their photo contest  :'( , but that they wanted to buy the rights to it, for one time publication, and place it on the inside of their back page  ;D  ;D  ;D  ;D  ;D  ;D  ;D   ;D   ;D  ;D  .

Well the check and the complimentary advance copies came in the mail this week.  I scanned the page from the magazine and HOPE it will turn out when I attach a copy of it.

The big problem that I have run into now is that my wetsuit hood no longer fits.....I think I now need a 10x hood (my head has gotten a bit bigger)  :Smile. 

Attached Files
.jpg   scan of magazine photo.jpg (Size: 18.88 KB / Downloads: 261)
.jpg_thumb   scan of magazine photo.jpg_thumb (Size: 21.19 KB / Downloads: 0)
06-23-2007, 09:23 AM,
Re: I got Published!!!!!
The text came out rather small in the scan. Here it what it says:

Photo by Art Gullette

Readers Art and Alyson Gullette recently had a close encounter of the loony kind while scuba diving in Minnesota.  Several feet below the surface of a clear lake near Brainerd, they were surprised by a submerged Common Loon. "It circled twice and then went off," writes Art, but not before he was able to snap the remarkable picture above. (He used an Olylmpus SP350 camera in a PT-030 underwater housing.) To read about a drier place to find birds in Minnesota, see page 52.

from Birder's World, August 2007.
06-23-2007, 09:32 AM,
Congrats !!
We take these risks, not to escape life but to prevent life from escaping us
06-23-2007, 10:09 AM,