Remember me
Lost Password Register

suggestions for first underwater camera
03-12-2008, 07:34 PM,
suggestions for first underwater camera
does anybody have any good suggestions for my first underwater camera.  i'm looking for one around $300.  i'm pretty new to underwater photography so any help would be great. thanks.
Release the hounds!
03-12-2008, 09:13 PM,
Re: suggestions for first underwater camera
Hello, welcome to scubaboard.
Are you thinking new or used.. or doesn't matter?
Cold and dark down there huh?
03-13-2008, 11:26 AM,
Check out Wetpixel for the latest recommendations:

You probably can't go wrong with buying a used camera setup.  Some people unload their rig every year to buy the latest greatest camera setup.  Your budget is pretty limited but I bet you could find a decent 3-year old digital camera and housing around that price. Underwater photography is very addicting. Smile
--Jason
03-13-2008, 05:02 PM,
A couple of things that I wish I hadn't done with my underwater camera:

I have a nikon cool pics camera that takes 2 aa bateries.  I liked the large screen but it gobbles up batteries like no other.  I have to buy fresh, disposable lithiums to keep it running.  Rechargables don't last.  Spendy!  I would get something that works on rechargables

I got a heavy duty Ike Lite housing which I thought would have been great because the housing could access every button.  That is nice, but the problem with the housing is that the lens portion of the housing is so big that it actually blocks a portion of the flash.  The pictures come out partially unexposed unless you use a stobe.  So I would look for a housing that the lens compartment is compact.

Also, The lens has to be zoomed in a certain amount or part of the flash will actually reflect inside the lens compartment which also shows up on the picture.

You also will want to see how bouyant it is.  Some of them really like to float which can get kinda annoying.