Remember me
Lost Password Register

Backplate or Jacket
12-19-2008, 03:59 PM,
Backplate or Jacket
I have been diving with a backplate for 8 years now, and I love it.  However, I have recently done some diving with a new jacket-style BC.  You know, they are not bad, they have definately gotten better.

Anyone else care to share their experiences? The pro's and Con's.
Dave Torry
Alexandria, MN
612-799-3201
12-19-2008, 05:40 PM,
Re: Backplate or Jacket
I guess I haven't tried a jacket again since I switched to a BP/harness 7 years ago.  For me the biggest pros of the BP/harness over the jacket are:
1.)Less clutter by not having anything wrapping around the front of the torso.
2.)Better horizontal trim. Jackets as I recall tend to be more prone to keeping you heads up like a life jacket.
3.)Clipping off lights/SPG etc. is more practical than on jackets because the D-Rings on jackets typically aren't adjustable. 
4.)The crotch strap is key in keeping the rig secure on a BP/harness as well.  I always had a problem with the jacket riding up when going slightly heads down. And if rolling left to right the jacket seemed to move.  It was never secure enough for me.
5.)The tank seems to be much more secure on a harness. When standing up on land the tank tends to sag way down from the weight causing the jacket to ride up in the front.  Not really an issue in the water but none the less I like the better stability that the BP offers. 
12-19-2008, 07:13 PM,
A BP&W pack smaller and I can change out the parts to suit the dive. DanG had a gear problem so I gave him a spare part for the day. You can't do that with jackets.

Jackets are still to puffy. I don't need all the padding and pockets.
Ask your doctor if getting off your ass is right for you.
12-19-2008, 09:57 PM,