Remember me
Lost Password Register

Pinnacle Black Ice questions
09-16-2009, 11:30 AM,
Pinnacle Black Ice questions
Hi All
Newbie here - well sorta - I got my original certification in 1974 but I have been away for a while. Now I am looking to get back into Scuba and have a lot of equipment questions. I may become a pain around here for a while - please bare with me. Wink

I am considering a dry suit. Currently leaning towards a Pinnacle black ice or a DUI CF200 or FLX 50/50.

Comments pro and con for each would be very welcome.

Specifically are the DUI suits worth the extra $
Is the custom sizing of the DUI worth the extra $
Is the Merino lining of the black ice as nice as it sounds?
With the Merinao lining can I get by with a light weight under garment?
Should the black ice be sized to a larger under garment and what negative affects would that have if I then wore a light weight undergarment during a warmer dive?

Hey I am sorry but I am full of questions about the gear that is available now. Soooo much to decide and sooo little knowledge - Help - help- and THANK YOU for any help in advance.  Smile

Brian
09-16-2009, 03:45 PM,
Re: Pinnacle Black Ice questions
i guess it depends on where (and when) you plan on diving... most lakes in minnesota only get warm on the surface. remember with a drysuit you can adjust your insulating amount by how much you inflate it. i wear pretty much the same amount of insulation every dive, if i get too warm i just vent air out.

i have merino lining in my hood, and it seems a little warmer than unlined... wool seems to hold water better too, so it might become a pain to have to dry an entire suit lined with it.

i've got a bare suit, and i appreciate their elastic cumberbund instead of suspenders/crotch strap.

"The lake is running low on leeches. Dump a few more barrels in."
-John Calhoun
09-16-2009, 05:22 PM,
Mostly Minnesota diving; Lakes, Mines, and Superior.

Ah - a good point about the drying.