Remember me
Lost Password Register

GPS
04-24-2011, 06:00 PM,
GPS
has anyone out there ever used a had held GPS and how accurate was it? I'm looking at using it for a class. Please tell me the name brand and model number.
Thanks  grumpie.
04-24-2011, 07:02 PM, (This post was last modified: 04-24-2011, 07:06 PM by DetectorGuy.)
Re: GPS
I use a Lowrance H20c and I really like it but I see now that it is discontinued. I have a Lakemaster chip in it that has something like 750 lakes in it that have 3' contours mapped out, and about 200 lakes with 1' contours mapped out. Most of the 10,000 (actually closer to 15,000) lakes in Minnesota are not contour mapped yet on the Lakemaster chip. Every year they add more contour mapped lakes. The Western 1/3 of Lake Superior is mapped in 3' contours I think. As far as accuracy... I think its as tight as any non military GPS units on the market. The trick with any of these is that they will be more accurate on Coordinates that you locked into rather than taking coords from someone else's GPS unit. The reason is that each GPS should be synchronized periodically to survey stakes near where you are using it to lock the Global Positioning Satelites to the general area you are in. These markers (survey stakes) are all over but often overlooked. Using Coords from one GPS on another GPS could put you off 15 feet easily. I like to think that I can get on the same 5' circle every time with mine.