Remember me
Lost Password Register

Local Dive Clubs
10-24-2011, 06:46 AM,
Local Dive Clubs
Hello, I'm 16 (got cert when I was 15) and I am looking for new dive buddies or dive clubs I can join. Does anyone know any local dive clubs that are open to people of my age, any high school clubs, really clubs of any kind that host get togethers or regualar meets that I could join as I am having trouble finding someone I can dive with... I am a newbie and an OW diver, but I do plan on getting my AOW.

This really helps, as I am trying to find good buddies in my area (Lino Lakes) I can dive with...
(I dont have my license but hope to have it by christmas Smile)

Thanks!
Looking for dive buddies in the Twin Cities
10-24-2011, 07:52 AM,
Re: Local Dive Clubs
Hi Mndiv,
Welcome to MNSCUBA. As far as clubs go... There are a couple actual clubs but the second closest thing to a club is this forum. Here you can ask some of the most active divers in the state about where to dive, when they are diving, equipment recommendations, ETC... The weather is getting colder obviously, and the OW season is drawing to an end in the next 2 months, But if I were you, I would tag along with some of those ice divers (just to watch) and see if it is something you might be interested in after you get your advanced. Ice diving is some of the best diving you can do in this god forsaken state. The visibility gets up to 10 times better, no boats buzzing overhead, no mosquitos, and it extends the diving season to all year long.
Here is a link to a fairly recent thread inquiring about existing dive clubs:

John
10-24-2011, 08:43 PM,
Thanks DetectorGuy, this is something I'd been wondering as well.  It's a decent idea on the ice diving thanks for the tips.
&quot;Speak softly and carry a BIG stick&quot;<br />Teddy Roosevelt
10-25-2011, 07:43 AM, (This post was last modified: 10-25-2011, 07:46 AM by DetectorGuy.)