Remember me
Lost Password Register

ATV at the Crosby mines.
05-05-2012, 09:39 PM,
ATV at the Crosby mines.
Does anyone know if ATVs are allowed in the mine pits? I m having a hard time finding any info..Thanks!
05-05-2012, 10:23 PM,
Re: ATV at the Crosby mines.
Heheheh funny you should ask.  ;D
"The lake is running low on leeches. Dump a few more barrels in."
-John Calhoun
05-05-2012, 10:57 PM, (This post was last modified: 05-05-2012, 10:59 PM by DetectorGuy.)

I am fairly new to ATV's and frankly new to following rules... but from what I understand, Class 2 ATV's can ride on the right hand side of any road that a car can drive on except for a state trunk highway. These class 2 ATV's can not run in the ditch. Class 1 ATV's, on the other hand, need to only run in the ditch unless crossing a road but can not run in the ditch from April 1 until August 1 because I guess it disrupts the pheasant nesting areas. I Have one of each, so I can do either...but not at the same time ;D Basically a class 1 ATV is less than 50" wide and less than 1000cc. A class 2 is more than 50" wide and less than 1000cc. Motorcycles are ATM, and ORV is the Truggies & Jeep type of vehicles. In my mind it is all legal until you cross a sign that clearly states the vehicle your on is not allowed, or a sign that says "no trespassing".
05-06-2012, 09:03 AM,
Awesome... I knew we used  to ride them all around the mine pits, but heard rumors they they were no longer allowed :Smile Maybe ingnorance is bliss >Big Grin
05-07-2012, 05:35 AM,
The DNR web page on the cuyuna rec area clearly States that no off highway vehicles are allowed.
Shoot to kill, thats how I roll.
05-07-2012, 01:06 PM,
That may be true... I guess I haven't seen that page yet. I am basing my thoughts on this document:
05-07-2012, 01:08 PM,

"Off-highway vehicles are not permitted within the boundaries of Cuyuna Country State Recreation Area."
05-07-2012, 01:32 PM,
I'll be danged it does clearly state that... My bad.