Remember me
Lost Password Register

Dive kayaks
05-06-2003, 09:40 AM,
Dive kayaks
I don't know how many of you have these already,but I have been using one for over 10 years and love it for local diving. I have even taken it out on Lake Superior and Lake Michigan to scuba/freedive off of.

I hook my wreck reel onto the bow and tow it through the water behind me. Because of the shape of the boat she actually is much easier to pull than a conventional flag and float.

A friend of mine just opened up a new tec shop in Milwaukee and I talked him into carring a rental fleet of them. He got a chance to try his out for the first time this past weekend on Lake Michigan.

You can see the tank well on the back and the front hatch where the rest of your gear goes.

Jon

Attached Files
.jpg   SURF_EN2.JPG (Size: 59.96 KB / Downloads: 74)
.jpg_thumb   SURF_EN2.JPG_thumb (Size: 29.31 KB / Downloads: 0)
"Ignorance begets confidence more often than does knowledge." -Charles Darwin
05-06-2003, 09:45 AM,
Re:Dive kayaks
Man, that would be a great thing to have for diving wrecks like the Madeira where it's a longer surface swim out to the wreck.
05-06-2003, 09:46 AM,
The surf wasn't that big, as far as lake Michigan goes, but it was still fun to play around in it for an afternoon.

In Wisconsin they don't need to be registered. They can be thrown on the top of almost any car and launched form almost anywhere. I have used mine to get onto some pretty secluded lakes- as in the only public access was a flight of stairs!

They are also a LOT cheaper than owning a regular boat and can take quite a bit of abuse. One of mine can handle class II rapids and can be completely recycled if I ever drop it off of a building or something. Wink

With all of the lakes in Minnesota I would think that this would be the perfect boat for divers.

Jon
Jon

Attached Files
.jpg   Punchin1.jpg (Size: 61.87 KB / Downloads: 67)
.jpg_thumb   Punchin1.jpg_thumb (Size: 26.39 KB / Downloads: 0)
05-06-2003, 09:47 AM,