Remember me
Lost Password Register

Diving permits, rules?
05-13-2003, 08:04 PM,
Diving permits, rules?
I'm new to MN diving... I visited FantaSea in Burnsville a couple of weekends ago and was told that I need to do my homework and get the proper dive permits and understand the dive rules for specific locales. For instance, the guy I talked to (Nick) mentioned that Christmas Lake covers two counties. One of the counties requires that you have a dive flag for each diver down (vs. a single dive flag). Additionally, he mentioned paying Mpls $8 to dive in their lakes. He also mentioned rules about staying within X ft of the dive flag depending on where you are.

What's the experience of divers on this board? If so, are the rules enforced? Is there a particular location (web site or phone #) which provides a snapshot of the requirements of each Lake, county, city, etc.?
- Dan
05-14-2003, 06:01 AM,
Re:Diving permits, rules?
Another option is diving outside the Metro area. (Crosby mines..etc). The visibility is usually better and you don't have to get permits to dive there.

Jean Smile

P.S. I haven't dove Christmas lake in about 2 years , but I found the visibility there to be not too great. And Lake Harriet...can you say MUCK???
How's my diving? Call 1-800-EAT-FISH
05-14-2003, 08:38 AM,
Just want to clarify something. Minneapolis dropped the Scuba Diver annual permit in 2002, it is no longer required. If you are not diving the city lakes you are missing some great dive sites. The DNR/Cities/Counties all put alot of money into restoring wetlands around the city lakes several years ago. As a result of this work the water quality is greatly improved and I've seen vis as high as 20' below the thermocline in Calhoun. Besides there's lots of cool junk down there. We have actually added Calhoun to our fun dive list for this summer.
05-14-2003, 08:41 AM,