Remember me
Lost Password Register

Beginner equipment recommendations?
08-28-2003, 01:04 PM,
Beginner equipment recommendations?
I am currently doing a lot of research regarding SCUBA and would like your opinions regarding a good set of mid-range starting equipment. I plan to dive in both the local lakes and warmer waters like Cozemel, Bonaire, etc... I am very new to SCUBA so I am not sure what specialties will pique my interest at this time, though cavern and wreck diving seem interesting.
I would also like to hear equipment/hype/fads I should stay away from. Reasons would be immenseley helpful. For instance...Split fins; great for straight shots, but due to 'vortex' action, they kick up a lot of silt and crud so they are poor for local lake diving and caverns, etc.
In a former life I was a lifeguard, swam competitively and grew up on a lake.
I understand what works for one person may not be right for another so please try to keep that in mind. Wink
A good friend will come and bail you out of jail...but, a true friend will be sitting next to you saying, "Damn...that was fun!"
08-28-2003, 01:19 PM,
Re:Beginner equipment recommendations?
If you think you want to dive in local lakes, don't just buy the cheapest warm water reg you can find. Remember, a good cold water reg will function well in warm or cold water. Buying a cheap reg now will just be a waste of money when you need to upgrade. I would recommend any model of Apex regulators. Aqualung also makes a couple well priced cold water regs. The Glacia is a good example. Try to rent any gear before you buy. I know GUDC has almost their whole product line covered in their rental section. As far as BCD's go, you'll have to see what fits you the best. I like back inflation BCD's best because they orient you properly while diving. Jacket style BCD's tend to squeeze you when inflated.
08-28-2003, 01:19 PM,